Monday, May 21, 2007

Book Review: The Sight (Warriors: Power of Three, book 1)

The Sight
Warriors: Power of Three, book 1
by Erin Hunter

The Sight is the first book in a new series of the wildly popular Warriors books. This book tells the story of three young cats, Hollypaw, Lionpaw, and Jaypaw, as they become apprentices and begin their training. As grandchildren of clan leader Firestar (who was the hero of the first Warriors series), the three kits seem certain to be destined for greatness. And yet, the challenges they face and the choices they make will affect not only their own future, but the future of all the clans.

After twelve books, you might think that there's nothing new that could be written about these feral cats. But The Sight not only breaks new ground, it's the best book yet. I love the theme of destiny vs. choice, and if I'm not completely satisfied with how the theme is resolved by the end of the book, I suspect that Erin Hunter intended it that way and has plans to further explore this theme as the series advances. The new series introduces three fascinating new characters, and it will be interesting to watch them develop over the series. The book has a few surprises, but unfortunately these have been posted widely. I won't spoil the book by giving them away here.

For more information about the Warriors Series, see my article in The Edge of the Forest online journal.


Brandon said...

I love your warriors series!!!!!!!!!!
I love cats and the outdoors so I was pumped when I started to read these.

Brandon said...

Please connect!!!!!!!!!!!!